World Cup Wild Card For Poland - VolleyBall Forum - Discuss Volleyball from Beach Volleyball to College Volleyball

Old 10-31-2007, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
truebluefan's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,101
truebluefan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to truebluefan Send a message via AIM to truebluefan Send a message via MSN to truebluefan Send a message via Yahoo to truebluefan Send a message via Skype™ to truebluefan
Default World Cup Wild Card For Poland

Lausanne, 1st October 2007 Ė After the entry list of the 12 Menís teams, the FIVB could release today the list of the 12 Womenís teams competing for the FIVB Volleyball World Cup 2007, the first of three Olympic qualification steps for Beijing 2008.
The FIVB and the organizers (Japanese Volleyball Association and Fuji Television) have decided today to assign the two wild cards to Poland and the Dominican Republic. Many aspects were considered for this choice, like the increasing level of Volleyball development in these countries and the good position in their Continental Championships.

The last entries were decided yesterday: Italy won for the first time in the history of the European Championship, beating Serbia, while Brazil won their 15th South American Championship thanks to their last victory against Peru.

The list of the 12 Womenís teams for the FIVB World Cup 2007:
1. Japan (host country)
2. Italy (Europe champion)
3. Cuba (Norceca champion)
4. Brazil (South America champion)
5. Thailand (Asia championship: best after Japan and China)
6. Kenya (Africa champion)
7. Serbia (Europe vice-champion)
8. Peru (South America vice-champion)
9. Korea (Asia championship: best after Thailand)
10. U.S.A. (Norceca vice-champion)
11. Poland (wild card)
12. Dominican Republic (wild card)

The best 4 continental vice-champions, according to the World Cup rules, were chosen following the World Ranking of January 2007 (

The list of the 12 Menís teams for the FIVB World Cup 2007 was delivered last week:
1. Japan (host country)
2. Spain (Europe champion)
3. U.S.A. (Norceca champion)
4. Brazil (South America champion)
5. Australia (Asia champion)
6. Egypt (Africa champion)
7. Russia (Europe vice-champion)
8. Puerto Rico (Norceca vice-champion)
9. Argentina (South America vice-champion)
10. Tunisia (Africa vice-champion)
11. Bulgaria (wild card)
12. Korea (wild card)

The FIVB Volleyball World Cup 2007 is the first step in the Olympic Qualification process towards Beijing: the 3 best Menís and 3 best Womenís teams will join the Chinese teams, already qualified for the 2008 Olympics as host country.
The 12 Menís and the 12 Womenís teams are now ready to leave for Japan to compete. The Womenís event is going to start on November 2nd and finish on November 16th when the last match is scheduled in Nagoya. The Menís tournament will be held from November 18th to December 2nd, with the last games in Tokyo.

truebluefan is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.